2022 ElectionsNEWS

30 governors throw weight behind Raila’s presidential bid

Raila Odinga’s presidential bid has gotten much-needed support as 30 governors threw weight behind his State House bid.

Speaking in Naivasha on Monday, January 17, after a closed-door meeting with the ODM leaders, the governors said their decision was based on Raila’s stand on matters of devolution.

The county chiefs led by Council of Governors (COG) Chairman Martin Wambora and Nakuru Governor Lee Kinyanjui said their support to the Orange leader was due to his role in championing the devolution agenda.

Kitui Governor Charity Ngilu said that county chiefs will go out of their way to ensure Raila Odinga is elected the Fifth President in the August 9 elections.

“We will go out of our way to ensure Raila is the president in August. There’s danger in electing Ruto as the president as he has always opposed the Kenyan Constitution,” Ngilu said.

“Having had deep deliberations on the future of the country, we hereby endorse Raila Amolo Odinga,” said Muriithi, the Laikipia governor.

 “As governors, we have decided to support Raila Odinga as the presidential candidate for Azimio la Umoja. Raila is the father of devolution & as the president, he will protect devolution,” Makueni governor Prof Kivitha Kibwana said in his remarks.

Raila in his speech welcomed the endorsement and promised to work together with the governors in improving service delivery to citizens as well as access to social amenities such as roads.

“Hawa magavana ndio wako mstari wa mbele…where the rubber meets the road. Chombo cha kwanza kuboresha maisha ya wakenya ni ugatuzi. Wanataka kuturudisha nyuma na.sisi tunaenda canaan, wao wanataka turudi misri,” Raila said.

Among the governors at the Naivasha meeting are Anne Kananu, Cyprian Awiti, Amos Nyaribo, Jame Nyoro, Francia Kimemia, Wycliffe Oparanya, Martin Wambora.

Others are; Hassan Joho, Joseph Ole Lenku, Ndiritu Mureithi, Mohammed Kuti, Lee Kinyanjui, Alex Tolgos, Wycliffe Wangamati, James Ongwae, Cornel Rasanga, Ahmed Boray, Fahim Twaha, Amason Kingi, Granton Samboja, Kivutha Kibwana, Any’ang Nyong’o, Dhadho Godhana, and Ali Korane.

Spread the love

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!